Skip to content

Media Contact: Michael Lawrence, Communications Officer, 407-320-0471
January 27, 2020

Crooms Academy of Information Technology and Sanford Middle School, S.T.E.M. Magnets have both been named National Magnet Schools of Excellence by Magnet Schools of America, the national association for magnet and theme-based schools.

The Principals will be recognized and receive a National Magnet School of Excellence Merit Award on behalf of their school during an awards ceremony held at Magnet Schools of America’s 38th National Conference hosted by Clark County School District in Clark County, Nevada, April 13-17, 2020.

Magnet School of Excellence Awards are only given to a select group of magnet schools. Last year, only 109 magnet schools nationwide were awarded the recognition of Schools of Excellence. Schools of Excellence are eligible to receive monetary awards and are eligible to be named the nation’s top Elementary, Secondary, or New & Emerging Magnet School. One of the Schools of Excellence will also be selected to win $5,000 and the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, which is considered the most prestigious magnet school award in the nation.

To receive a national merit award, members of Magnet Schools of America must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. These schools are judged and scored on their demonstrated ability to raise student academic achievement, promote racial and socioeconomic diversity, provide integrated curricula and instruction, and create strong family and community partnerships that enhance the school’s magnet theme.

To learn more about the national merit awards program, please visit

Scroll To Top